University of Minnesota
Department of Philosophy
umphil@umn.edu
612-625-6563
myU OneStop


Department of Philosophy

Faculty

Portrait Name Contact Information Specialties
Portrait: Brian Bix Brian Bix 871 Heller
N-212 Law
612-624-2505
bixxx002@umn.edu
Legal Philosophy,
Philosophy of Language,
Moral & Political Philosophy
Portrait: Roy Cook Roy Cook 819 Heller
612-625-8379
cookx432@umn.edu
Philosophy of Logic, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mathematics, Aesthetics of Popular Art, 17th Cent. Philosophy
Portrait: Peter Hanks Peter Hanks
Director of Graduate Studies
868 Heller
612-624-6415
pwhanks@umn.edu
Philosophy of Language, History of Analytic Philosophy
Portrait: Geoffrey Hellman Geoffrey Hellman
Chair
845 Heller
612-625-8201
hellm001@umn.edu
Philosophy of Mathematics & Logic,
Philosophy of Natural Science,
Aesthetics
Portrait: Sarah Holtman Sarah Holtman
815 Heller
612-626-1764
holtm001@umn.edu
Ethics,
Political Philosophy,
Philosophy of Law
Portrait: Michael Kac Michael Kac 812 Heller
612-625-1865
kacxx001@umn.edu
Linguistics, Cognitive Science,
Philosophy of Language,
Philosophy of Music
Portrait: Alan Love Alan Love 754 Heller Hall
612-625-4510
aclove@umn.edu
Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Science, History of Biology, Epistemology
Portrait: Michelle Mason Michelle Mason Director of
Undergraduate Studies
851 Heller
612-625-2526
mason043@umn.edu
Ethics, Moral Psychology,
Practical Reason, Aesthetics
Portrait: Joseph Owens Joseph Owens 808 Heller
612-625-0851
owens002@umn.edu
Philosophy of Mind,
Philosophy of Language,
Metaphysics
Portrait: Sandra Peterson Sandra Peterson 719 Heller
612-625-6058
peter009@umn.edu
Ancient Philosophy,
Moral Philosophy
Portrait: Naomi Scheman Naomi Scheman Imagine Fund Arts, Design, and
Humanities Chair
758 Heller
612-625-3430
nschema@umn.edu
Feminist Theory,
Philosophy of Mind,
Theory of Criticism
Portrait: Valerie Tiberius Valerie Tiberius
721 Heller
612-625-0038
tiberius@umn.edu
Ethics, Moral Psychology, Well-being & Wisdom
Portrait: John Wallace Jos Uffink
John M. Dolan Professor
749 Heller
612-625-5316
jbuffink@umn.edu
Philosophy of physics, Philosophy of Science, History of Physics
Portrait: John Wallace John Wallace 805 Heller
612-624-5210
walla003@umn.edu
Philosophy of Language,
Political Philosophy,
Philosophy of Education
Portrait: C. Kenneth Waters C. Kenneth Waters
Samuel Russell Chair in the Humanities
735 Heller
612-625-4325
ckwaters@umn.edu
Philosophy of Science,
Philosophy of Biology,
Epistemology, History of Biology
Portrait: William C. Wimsatt William C. Wimsatt
Winton Chair
751 Heller
612-626-5321
wwim@umn.edu
Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Social Science, History of Biology

Affiliated Faculty

Portrait Name Contact Information Specialties
Portrait: Debra DeBruin Debra DeBruin 612-624-9687
debru004@umn.edu
Bioethics
Portrait: Antony Duff Antony Duff 446 Mondale Hall
612-625-6326
raduff@umn.edu
Philosophy of Criminal Law, Jurisprudence, Ethics, Political Philosophy
Portrait: Carl Elliott Carl Elliott 612-624-9440
ellio023@umn.edu
Philosophical and Ethical
Questions in Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Portrait: Jeannette Gundel Jeannette Gundel 612-624-7564
gunde003@umn.edu
Pragmatics and
Linguistic Theory
Portrait: Michel Janssen Michel Janssen 612-624-5880
janss011@umn.edu
History of modern physics,
relativity and quantum
revolutions, Einstein,
philosophy of science
Portrait: Michelle Mason Sandra E. Marshall smarshal@umn.edu Moral, Legal, and Political Philosophy

Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

Portrait Name Contact Information Specialties
Portrait: David Taylor David Taylor 854 Heller
612-625-9304
detaylor@umn.edu
Philosophy of Language,
Metaphysics,
History of Analytic Philosophy
Portrait: Ian Stoner Ian Stoner ston0235@umn.edu Moral theory, Applied Ethics, Political Philosophy, Hume

Emeritus Faculty

Portrait Name Contact Information Specialties
Portrait: Norman Dahl Norman Dahl dahlx005@umn.edu Moral Philosophy,
Ancient Philosophy
Portrait: Marcia Eaton Marcia Eaton eaton001@umn.edu Aesthetics
Portrait: Ronald Giere Ronald Giere giere@umn.edu Philosophy of Science
Portrait: William Hanson William Hanson whanson@umn.edu Logic, Philosophy of Logic
Portrait: Jasper Hopkins Jasper Hopkins hopkins@umn.edu Ancient & Medieval Philosophy,
Philosophy of Religion,
Medical Ethics
Portrait: Douglas Lewis Douglas Lewis 864 Heller
612-625-9842
lewis002@umn.edu
17th & 18th Century Philosophy,
Metaphysics
Portrait: Michael Root Michael Root rootx001@umn.edu Metaphysics, Epistemology,
Philosophy of Social Science
Portrait: Wade Savage Wade Savage savag001@umn.edu Philosophy of Science,
Epistemology,
Philosophy of Psychology

Departmental Main Office
 - Hours of Operation

Monday through Friday
8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and
1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

General Information

612-625-6563
831 Heller Hall
271 19th Avenue S
Minneapolis, MN 55455